William Labov receives the Neil and Saras Smith Medal for Linguistics from the British Academy.


Neil and Saras Smith Medal for Linguistics

The Neil and Saras Smith Medal is awarded to a linguist of any nationality whose career has demonstrated the highest standards of achievement and scholarship.  Professor Neil Smith was elected a Fellow of the British Academy in 1994 and is Emeritus Professor of Linguistics at University College London. In 2013 Professor Smith created a fund at the Academy to provide for an annual medal in his own field of linguistics.

The 2015 winner is:

  • Professor William Labov (University of Pennsylvania) for his significant contribution to linguistics and the language sciences.